The integrity of capital markets is supported by robust regulatory systems, the ethical standards of market participants, and by the agencies that regulate them. Key regulators in New Zealand’s capital markets are the Financial Markets Authority, NZX Limited, the Overseas Investment Office, the Commerce Commission and the Takeovers Panel. Each has a different focus and purpose, and they all contribute to supporting the integrity of the markets so that investors can be confident that transactions occur in an appropriate and transparent fashion.

To achieve more effective engagement, the Panel engages closely with its fellow regulators. In addition, the Panel has entered into memoranda of understanding with two co-regulators.


NZX Limited

Memorandum of Understanding between Takeovers Panel, NZX Limited and NZX Regulation Limited
December 2020

Financial Markets Authority

Memorandum of Understanding between Takeovers Panel and Financial Markets Authority 
August 2016