Panel Members

Panel members are appointed by the Governor-General, on the nomination of the Minister of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, under section 6 of the Takeovers Act 1993. There must be between 5 and 11 members. The members are nominated based on their expertise in business, accounting or law. One of the members is also from the Australian Takeovers Panel, appointed under a reciprocal arrangement made between the governments of Australia and New Zealand. The Chair of the New Zealand Panel sits as a member of the Australian Panel under the same arrangement.

New Panel members have been appointed from 7 June 2023 (see announcement).


Meet the Panel Members 



Carl Blanchard


Partner, Infrastructure and Mergers and Acquisitions at PwC New Zealand. Former Head of Direct Investments at the Accident Compensation Corporation.

Appointed to the Panel in 2011.   




Anna Buchly

Deputy Chair

Partner at Bell Gully, specialising in mergers, acquisitions, capital markets and joint ventures. International experience, advising clients in Dubai and Sydney. Member of the Institute of Directors and Champions for Change. 

Appointed to the Panel in 2019.



Megan Glen

Director of Investment Banking at Forsyth Barr, previously Director at Ascentro Capital Partners. Former portfolio manager at the NZ Super Fund and investment banker in New York and New Zealand with experience in merger and acquisition transactions and securities offerings.

Appointed to the Panel in 2019.


Richard Hunt

Senior Advisor at E&P Corporate Advisory. A market leader in mergers and acquisitions, equity capital market and debt capital market transactions. 

Appointed as the Australian Takeovers Panel's representative in 2014.




Sacha Judd

Managing Director, Hoku Group. Former Partner at Buddle Findlay, specialising in corporate and securities law and takeovers. Member of the Institute of Directors.

Appointed to the Panel in 2015.




Silvana Schenone

Managing Director and Co-Head of Investment Banking at Jarden, specialising in mergers and acquisitions and equity capital markets. Extensive experience advising on corporate and securities law matters in Chile, New York and New Zealand.

Appointed to the Panel in 2016.



Nathanael Starrenburg

Director at specialist corporate law firm, Harmos Horton Lusk. Specialises in public and private mergers and acquisitions, securities offerings and other equity capital markets transactions.

Appointed to the Panel in 2016.




Martin Stearne

Corporate consultant, member of NZX Listing sub-committee and investment committee of Impact Enterprise Fund. Former investment banker with experience in equity capital markets and takeovers.   

Appointed to the Panel in 2019.