The Takeovers Panel is pleased to announce the appointment of Rachel Dunne, David Goatley and Sam Inglis to the Panel commencing on 7 June 2023.

Panel Chair, Carl Blanchard, welcomed the appointments, “The three new Panel members will bring a wealth of expertise to their roles. Their considerable experience in the legal and investment aspects of public mergers and acquisitions will be a real asset to the Panel,” says Mr Blanchard.

Rachel Dunne is a partner at law firm Chapman Tripp. Ms Dunne specialises in corporate and securities law with particular expertise in equity capital markets, mergers and acquisitions and corporate governance.

David Goatley is a corporate advisor with significant New Zealand and international transaction experience across takeovers, mergers and acquisitions, financing including equity capital markets and corporate restructuring. Mr Goatley was formerly a New Zealand-based Managing Director with a global investment bank.

Sam Inglis (Ngāi Tahu – Puketeraki) is the Chief Operating Officer at Ngāi Tahu Holdings, having been the General Manager Investment for a number of years. Mr Inglis joined Ngāi Tahu from the New Zealand Superannuation Fund, where he was primarily in the International Direct Investment Team. He previously worked at the New Zealand Treasury.

Mr Blanchard thanked departing Panel members, Tony Pigou and Simon Horner. “I acknowledge the valuable contributions of Tony Pigou and Simon Horner who are leaving the Takeovers Panel after more than 10 years each,” says Mr Blanchard. “Tony and Simon contributed to the Panel’s success over the last 10 years in promoting the strength of New Zealand’s capital markets by ensuring transparent and equitable takeovers processes. They were part of the Panel that was responsible for developing rules around schemes of arrangement following changes to the Companies Act in 2014, the Panel’s law reform recommendations in 2017 and 2022 to update and modernise the Takeovers Code, and the Panel’s overhaul and improvement of its website and public stakeholder engagement starting in 2018.”

Two other Panel members, Martin Stearne and Richard Hunt, have each had their appointments renewed. Finally, with the departure of Tony Pigou, Panel member Megan Glen has agreed to Chair the Panel’s Audit and Risk Committee.


Media Contact

Andrew Hudson, Chief Executive


M: +64 21 815401 | DDI: +64 4 815 8452

Back to top